Bacarra Rice

We both met Bacarra Rice when we went down to Delaware Park over the summer. Jockey Robert Colton introduced us to her and she said she would love to be part of the page once she actually had a few rides under her belt. Well just recently on a cold winter night I travelled to Penn National to get an interview with her. I handed Bacarra my questions and tape recorder and this is what was said:

FOTH: Where were you born and where did you grow up?

BR: I was born and raised in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

FOTH: What did you want to be when you were younger?

BR: I have always wanted to be a jockey since I was 8 years old.

FOTH: How did you end up being a jockey?

BR: A friend of a friend brought me to Ocala, Florida and that is where I learned to gallop.

FOTH: Did anybody try and talk you out of becoming a jockey?

BR: Nobody tried to talk me out of it. My parents have become very supportive of it.

FOTH: How long did you gallop horses?

BR: I galloped horses for about 3 years.

FOTH: Were you taught anything as far as riding goes?

BR: I was taught a lot as far as riding goes. Robert Colton who rides at Delaware Park taught me a lot and another person taught me how to hit.

FOTH: Tell us about your first race and what you remember about it.

BR: My first race was at Delaware Park on a horse called Michael B. I ran second on him.

FOTH: What have you learned as far as riding goes now that you have been in a few races.

BR: I have learned a lot as far as riding goes. I have learned when things are low and it doesn’t look like it is gonna get better to keep your chin up.

FOTH: Tell us about your first win. How exciting was it for you? How much did you win by? Did you get various items poured on you?

BR: My first win was very exciting. It was here at Penn National on a horse called Good To Be King. I won by 2 or 3 lengths. I got ice water and tons of stuff on me. It was kinda embarrassing and fun at the same time.

FOTH: What tracks have you ridden at?

BR: I have ridden at Delaware Park, Laurel, Penn National and at Philadelpia Park.

FOTH: So far have you found it tough being a female jockey?

BR: I have found it pretty hard as we have to work just as hard as anybody else and we are out there trying to get mounts like anybody else.

FOTH: Do you have any goals for yourself?

BR: I have goals, but not just for riding. One of my main things would be to be one of the leading apprentice riders this year.

FOTH: What do you do in your spare time?

BR: What I like to do is go shopping a lot. No doubt about that. (laughs) I workout a lot too.

FOTH: Any other female riders you like?

BR: My favorite female rider of course is Julie Krone. There is also a girl that rides at Philadelphia Park and she comes here to ride sometimes and her name is Sandi Dorr. I like her a lot. She is really cool.

FOTH: Do you ask any other riders for advice?

BR: All the time. There are things I feel I could do better or change and I just ask somebody for help.

FOTH: Take us through a typical day for you.

BR: I get up about 6:30am and I am at the track by 7am. I get on between 5 and 8 horses a day. Then I go home and sleep and get up about 4pm. I then go to the track and ride at night. On a dark day I go to the mall and eat a lot. (giggles)

FOTH: Do you pretty much plan on staying at PennNational for the time being?

BR: I plan on staying here for awhile. I do never know what is gonna happen or what opportunities your gonna get so I keep my eyes open.

FOTH: If you were not a jockey what would you be?

BR: I would probably trying to be a vet. I had a job with a vet one time and that was pretty cool and I enjoyed that a lot.

FOTH: How long do you want to ride for?

BR: I can't see anything else in the future that I rather be doing now so as far as I know I want to ride for a long time.

FOTH: Any last words. Thanks Bacarra for being part of our website and best of luck to you.

BR: Good luck to everybody. I want to see everybody do good, especially the girls. You’re welcome for the interview and good luck with your website.

Back to our main page