Jennifer Grusse

Jenny Grusse is a jockey that rides in Germany and I did an email interview with her and here is what she said to my questions:

FOTH: Where were you born and where did you grow up?

JG: I was born in Switzerland. When I was 18 years I went to Germany. My mother comes from Colombia and my father from Switzerland.

FOTH: Do you have any brothers or sisters?

JG: Yes, I have one sister and one brother.

FOTH: Did you know at a young age you wanted to be a jockey?

JG: Yes, and I began to ride when I was 9 years.

FOTH: Is there many racetracks in Germany and many female riders?

JG: In Germany we have 23 racetracks, two of them are sand race tracks (winter). There are also many female riders but none of them is the top ten of the jockeys.

FOTH: When did you know you wanted to become a jockey?

JG: When I was 12 I saw my first horse race and from then on my wish was to become a jockey.

FOTH: Tell me about your 1st race.

JG: My first race was in Bremen and became 3rd. My second race I did in Neuss on a sand racetrack and I became also 3rd.

FOTH: Did you take lessons or learn all by yourself?

JG: When I started to ride I took lessons in dressage. I rode 1 year polo horses and than I began with racehorses.

FOTH: Would you like to ride in the US someday?

JG: Yes of course, I would like to take place in races all around the world.

FOTH: What is the big race day in Germany?

JG: The racing days in Baden Baden are the greatest in Germany and they are and they are going over 10 days. The race course is also the biggest in Germany. A lot of people are coming constantly and in summer more than in other seasons.

FOTH: How long would you like to ride for?

JG: As long as I can and as my health allows it.

FOTH: Can you make a good living being a jockey?

JG: I don't know about the jockeys. Someone who works in the stable don't own a lot of money but you can live from it.

FOTH: Have you seen any races from the USA and what did you think if you did?

JG: Yes I did see races from the USA. They are different and they have another style to ride.

FOTH: Have you had any injuries at all?

JG: No, thanks God, till now I didnÕt have any big injuries.

FOTH: Do you have a big race sort of like the Kentucky Derby over there?

JG: The German Derby in Hamburg. They ride 3 years old stallions and mares.

FOTH: Ever have any problems with weight?

JG: When I started with racehorses my weight was 43 kg. Today I have many more muscles and my weight is 51 kg.

FOTH: Any last words. Thanks for the interview and being part of the website.

JG: It was a pleasure to make this interview with you and I hope to meet Julie Krone one day.

Back to our main page