Kristen Troxell

Kristen Troxell is a apprentice rider just starting out in the sport of horse racing. With her drive I am sure she will make it. I caught up with Kristen  down at Delaware Park and here is what she said.  

FOTH: Where were you born and where did you grow up?
KT: I was born in Depford, NJ and I also grew up there.

FOTH: Do you have any brothers or sisters?
KT: Yeah, I have 1 younger sister. 

FOTH: What sort of girl were you growing up?
KT: A tomboy. I was always with the horses. Show horses.

FOTH: What do you parents think of you being a jockey and have they ever seen you ride?
KT: Yeah, my dad comes up a lot. He really supports me. My mom likes it, but she tried not to watch as much. Little scared (laughs)

FOTH: Did you always know you wanted to be a jockey?
KT: I always knew I wanted be around horses and I sort of just made it to the racetrack when I was 18 and I started galloping and it just went on from  there. 

FOTH: What event or events actually led to you becoming a jockey?
KT: I don't know. I had people saying I looked good on a horse and I just kept on going. I went to several different tracks, I went New Orleans  (Fairgrounds) and Florida and did it. 

FOTH: Tell us all about your 1st race and were you nervous at all?
KT: I was very nervous. The horse was good he broke and went to the lead and just got tired, but I was very nervous.

FOTH: What track was that at?
KT: It was here. (meaning Delaware Park) 

FOTH: Since your an apprentice rider, do you ask any other jockeys for advice and have they been helpful?
KT: Yeah the guys here have been really helpful. I have learned a lot from 
Ramon Dominguez.

FOTH: Why did you decide to ride at Delaware Park?
KT: Well I have been galloping here for the last 4 years and I've been working for Allen Iwinski and he put me on a horse and it is close to home. 

FOTH: For those who don't know can you explain what galloping means.
KT: It is getting up in the morning and getting the horses ready to run. It wasn't at first, but it all came together.

FOTH: How excited were you when you first got your jockey license and you had it in your hand. 
KT: I was very excited. It took a lot of work to get it.

FOTH: Do you personally have any goals for yourself as a jockey?
KT: Well I want to do well my bug year and then after an another year probably get out of it and take care of myself. That's my goal. 

FOTH: Do you feel with each race ride that you are improving as a jockey?
KT: Yeah...definitely. Each race is different so you learn where your at. I learn something new everytime. 

FOTH: What goes through your mind before the race.
KT: I look at the program and see what horses I have to beat and try to know where I want to be in the race. 

FOTH: What are your plans after Delaware Park closes in November?
KT: I think I'll head on up to Philadelphia Park. That is what it looks like now. 

FOTH: Looking back was becoming a jockey easier or harder than you thought and why?
KT: It's harder. It's a lot harder. It is tough being a girl. Trying to get  live mounts is tough here. (Delaware Park) Even people I've worked for a long  time, they might give you one. Your on your own. 

FOTH: Take us through what you do in a typical day.
KT: I get up at 4;30 am and I come to Delaware Park. I work for Scott Lake. I get on about 4 or 5 in the morning and then I'll go home and then I come back  here and go up to the jock's room and get ready to ride in the afternoon.

FOTH: If a young girl told you she wanted to become a jockey, what advice would you give her?
KT: Keep on going and don't give up cause they will try and push you down. Keep trying.

FOTH: Is there any other female jockeys or athletes that you admire.
KT: Helen Vanek and Jennifer Bramlett have helped me a lot since I've been here. They are very helpful and I do admire both of them. 

FOTH: Do you think you have been treated fairly as a jockey?
KT: Yeah I think so here. These guys here I have known since I started galloping.

FOTH: Is there any hobbies or things you like to do when your away from the track?
KT: I have a horse of my own that I still have from when I used to show and I spend a lot of time with her. When I'm not here I am relaxing. It is a lot of work (laughs) 

FOTH: Do you do anything special to keep in shape?
KT: I go to the gym and pretty much just getting on horses in the morning helps a lot. 

FOTH: any track you might have seen on TV that you might want to ride at one day?
KT: I don't know. I really haven't thought about it.

FOTH: Kristen I am out of questions. Anything you want to say and again thanks for being part of the website?
KT: No not really, but thanks for the interview. 

Back to our main page