Marcelle Martins

Marcelle Martins is a jockey based out of Brazil and I got in touch with her and emailed her some questions and here is what she said to them:

FOTH: Where were you born and where did you grow up?

MM: I was born and raised in Brazil, Rio de Janeiro.

FOTH: What sort of girl were you growing up and what were some of the things you liked to do when you were young?

MM: I've always lived with my father Carlos Alberto Martins, Andréa my mother Fatima Marques Mendes and my sister Larissa Maques Martins.

FOTH: What led to you having a love for horses?

MM: My father was a jockey for 27 years and is now a horse trainer. When I attended the Jockey Club, so every time I saw more in love with these great animals.

FOTH: If I am not mistaken I read where you went to a jockey school in Brazil. How did that come about and how long was the school and were there many students in it?

MM: I started at school learners aged 16, had 13 apprentices in the season, but the beginning was tough, now much improved.

FOTH: What did they exactly teach you and were there more than one teacher and looking back was it worth going to?

MM: They taught me everything, because when I started I knew exactly nothing, I had never mounted a horse, I gave a lot of work to learn, I was in school for 1 year and 3 months and I had a teacher named J. Machado.

FOTH: Are there many tracks to ride in Brazil? Are there many girl riders in Brazil besides you?

MM: I do not know exactly say, but some girls throughout Brazil, but in Rio de Janeiro I just have a girl to ride horses at the Hippodrome.
FOTH: How many years have you been riding and how long would you like to ride for? How many tracks have you ridden at so far?

MM: I ride horses in competitions to 1 year and 1 month, but training to more than two years, I do not ride horses to endure more, rode at an average of 500 horses in one year.

FOTH: Do the tracks in Brazil have a grass or turf course or is it all dirt racing so to speak?

MM: We track sand and grass in Brazil, it's all very organized.

FOTH: When you started riding did you get a weight allowance like it is in the US where you get a 10 pound weight allowance of 10 pounds till you 5th win and then it goes to 7 pounds and then 5 pounds and after a year you become a journeyman?

MM: Here a woman because I have a discharge of 2 pounds, and unload two more to be apprenticed to the second category.

FOTH: Have you ever watches races from the US and would you want to come over here and ride one day?

MM: Yes, sometimes I watch the races from the U.S., and I really want to ride horses racing outside of Brazil.

FOTH: Do you know of Maylan Studart who also hails from Brazil?

MM: Maylan Studart met when she was a student in Brazil, saw its debut.

FOTH: What it is a typical day like for you?

MM: My day is waking up early to gallop the horses, then I have an English course in the afternoon the way the horses in the villages and in the evening I study.

FOTH: What are some things you like to do when you are not doing race related things?

MM: I like to find my friends and I love to dance.

FOTH: Is it hard being a female jockey in Brazil?

MM: It has been more difficult still, but much improved in relation to sexism.

FOTH: How many races have you won and what is it like getting your picture taken after a win?

MM: I've won 120 races this time ride, and the thrill of taking a picture with people you know are cheering for you is great.

FOTH: Do many people go to see the races in Brazil?

MM: Not much, the turf in Brazil is very undervalued.

FOTH: Do you like or follow any other sports in Brazil?

MM: No, I worked out at the gym and ran very much in the sand track, but lately have not been doing other physical activity.

FOTH: What goals do you have if you have any?

MM: I had a goal that was to get 100 wins in one year of career, which already got. But my new goal is to get more evidence mounting in particular here, the Brazil Grand Prix.

FOTH: Are there many jockeys that ride in Brazil?

MM: Many are scattered everywhere, but we have jockeys.

FOTH: How much longer would you like to be a jockey?

MM: I want to ride horses while I stand when I can no longer do I stop.

FOTH: Does the thought of being injured ever cross your mind and have you ever been hurt riding yet?

MM: It's been several times, but my mind is very positive, since I fell several times, but I always come back and recover.

FOTH: Looking back was becoming a jockey easier or harder than you thought it was going to be?

MM: I always dreamed but never thought it would come where I arrived.

FOTH: Did anybody teach you how to ride?

MM: I had a school and a teacher, but taught me the truth, which showed me how was my father who was a jockey and is now a horse trainer.

FOTH: Advice for anybody who would like to become a jockey?

MM: Go ahead, let your courage, is a very hard job, but when you want something really fight for it and you'll get will be a winner!

FOTH: If you were not a jockey, what do you think you would be doing in life?

MM: I do not know what I would, because the only thing I like to do is ride horses, I was drawing horses, drawing only know because it would be veterinary or horse, I love these animals.

FOTH: What do you think of a race like the Kentucky Derby?

MM: I had the opportunity to watch a race like this, because my day is very busy, but when I have more opportunities to look such a rush I can tell you what I think, but be very important for me every race is important!

FOTH: Marcelle thanks for the interview any last words?

MM: I thank all the attention you gave me and for the opportunity to be speaking for everyone here as my work is not easy, but that's what I love to do, I gladly my job and I'm here to show everyone than I am able to show what I like to do! Thank you and a big hug to everyone!

Back to our main page